Georgia Law summer program Brussels

Program Overview

The Georgia Law Summer Program in Brussels and Geneva offers U.S. and foreign law students an outstanding opportunity to immerse themselves in European Union Law (with a focus on EU business law) and international trade law under the World Trade Organization. The program is taught by distinguished U.S. and European faculty and numerous guest speakers from European Union institutions, the WTO, and leading international law firms. The first two weeks of the program take place in Brussels, the capital of Belgium and political epicenter of the EU. A charming European city that is easy to navigate, Brussels offers students  a plethora of opportunities for social activities as well as an ideal launching point for travel within Europe. The final week is an intensive introduction to the World Trade Organization in its home base, Geneva, a stunning city full of history and the home of numerous international organizations on the shores of lake Geneva.

This program is hosted in Brussels,Belgium by the Université Saint-Louis (IEE), which provides lectures and classroom space as well as administrative assistance. 

  • 2014 Dates: Brussels: June 30 - July 11; Geneva: July 14-17
  • 3 ABA-approved semester-hour credits
  • Dual city experience – Brussels (political epicenter of the EU) and Geneva (headquarters of the WTO and nerve-center for international trade law)
  • Lectures by leading scholars, academics and practitioners in the fields of EU law & policy and international trade.
  • Organized city tours of both Brussels and Geneva
  • Trip to Luxembourg to visit the European Court of Justice
  • Visit to the European Parliament, World Trade Organization, and other  international institutions relevant to the coursework of the program
  • Seminars with international practitioners at leading law firms in Brussels and Geneva
  • Opening and closing receptions
  • Several “open” weekends for individual free time and/or travel

Program directed by:

  • C. Donald Johnson, former U.S. congressman and ambassador in the Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR); Director, Dean Rusk Center, University of Georgia School of Law;


Study Law in Europe

Brussels & Geneva


Learn European Union (EU) Law in Brussels and study the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva in Georgia Law's ABA-approved summer course.




Dean Rusk Center logo


Brussels & Geneva Program Video

Global Internship Photo


Learn more from a recent participant in Georgia Law's Brussels & Geneva Summer Program.