China summer program illustration

China Summer Program

Program Overview

Beijing: May 25 - June 5 /  Shanghai: June 8 - 17

The Georgia Law Summer Program in China offers participants an inside view of the dynamically evolving legal culture of the United States’ second-largest trading partner. The curriculum is designed to provide an introduction to the Chinese legal system, with an emphasis on commercial and international trade law.

Directed by C. Donald Johnson, a former congressman and ambassador in the Office of the United States Trade Representative, the program includes lectures by leading legal scholars at two of China’s top law schools. In addition, students take part in seminars on trade issues with officials from the Chinese Ministry of Commerce, and the U.S. Embassy. 

Classes generally meet in the mornings, leaving afternoons and weekends free for exploration of two of China’s most fascinating cities: Beijing, the capital, and Shanghai, the financial center. Participants visit the Shanghai International Arbitration Centre, and meet with international attorneys at a top law firm. Past cultural excursions have included the Ming Tombs, the Great Wall (Mutianyu section), Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and the Temple of Heaven as well as a guided tour of Shanghai, and a Chinese acrobat performance. 

This program is hosted by two of China's top law school's, Tsinghua University School of Law (Beijing) and Shanghai Jiao Tong University Koguan Law School, and participants have the chance to interact with Chinese law students.  


Arrival in Beijing: May 23

Orientation: May 24

Beijing Program: May 25 - June 5

Departure to Shanghai: June 6

Shanghai Program: June 8 - 17

Departure from Shanghai: June 18


Past Participants

Georgia Law’s Dean Rusk Center for International Law & Policy has been operating law study abroad programs for over forty years. Our programs are open to Georgia Law students, students from international and other U.S. law schools and legal practitioners. In the past seven years, we have had participants in our popular summer programs from the following law schools:

  • Albany Law School
  • Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
  • Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law
  • Chapman University Dale E. Fowler School of Law
  • Charlotte School of Law
  • Elon University School of Law
  • Emory University School of Law 
  • Florida A&M University College of Law
  • Florida State University College of Law
  • George Washington University Law School
  • Georgetown University Law Center
  • John Marshall Law School
  • Loyola University (Chicago) School of Law
  • Marquette University Law School
  • Mercer University Walter F. George School of Law
  • Northern Kentucky University Salmon P. Chase College of Law
  • Saint Louis University School of Law
  • Southwestern Law School
  • Suffolk University Law School
  • Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law
  • Texas Tech University School of Law
  • Thomas Jefferson School of Law
  • Tulane University Law School
  • University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
  • University of Idaho College of Law
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign College of Law
  • University of Kansas School of Law
  • University of La Verne College of Law
  • University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
  • University of Richmond School of Law
  • Valparaiso University Law School
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • Willamette University College of Law
  • William Mitchell College of Law