2014 Awards Day Ceremony University of Georgia School of Law Hatton Lovejoy Courtroom March 28, 2014 3:30 - 4:30 p.m.

Welcome and Presentation of Student Awards

Dean Rebecca H. White Dean and J. Alton Hosch Professor of Law

Presentation of Faculty Awards

Alexandria E. Seay Class of 2014 President

Order of the Coif Induction (Class of 2013)

Erica J. Hashimoto Associate Professor of Law and Georgia Chapter of the Order of the Coif President

**Closing Remarks** 

Dean Rebecca H. White

Reception immediately following on the first floor of the law school.

### **Class of 1933 Torts Law Award**

Lee A. Deneen Emily N. Evans William A. Smith

### Verner F. Chaffin Award for Excellence

**in the Study of Fiduciary Law** David C. Wright Catherine Land Wiegand

#### American Bankruptcy Institute Medal

Jennifer M. Williams

Julian McDonnell Award for Excellence in the Study of Commercial Law Alexander McDonald

Donald P. Gilmore, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence in the Study of Labor & Employment Law Katherine P. O'Shea

The American Bar Association Section of Labor and Employment Law & The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Award for Excellence in the Study of Labor and Employment Law Katherine P. O'Shea

The American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law & The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Award for Excellence in the Study of Intellectual Property Law Robyn M. Flegal Kimberly N. Scott

The American Bar Association Health Law Section & The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Award for Excellence in the Study of Health Law Jingshi Shi

American Society of Law, Medicine and Ethics Annual Health Law Student Award Emily C. Cook

> **The State Bar of Georgia Health Law Section Scholarship** Victoria Garel

The Atlanta Bar Association Section of Alternative Dispute Resolution Award Amanda J. Shaw

The Georgia Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers Custer-Tuggle Award for Excellence in Family Law Kathryn A. Clark

> Attorneys' Title Guaranty Fund Award for Excellence in the Study of Real Estate Law Grace E. Conway

State Bar of Georgia Real Property Section Award Nicholas P. Sexton

> John C. O'Byrne Award for Excellence in the Study of Taxation Morgan L. Klinzing

State Bar of Georgia Tax Section Outstanding Student Award Thomas D. Powell

Georgia Municipal Association Municipal Corporations Award John A. Eunice

Outstanding Prosecutorial Clinic Student Catherine A. Sumner

Outstanding Legal Defense Clinic Student Sarah Bellacicco

Georgia Association for Women Lawyers Outstanding Student Award Ellen R. Clarke

National Association of Women Lawyers Outstanding Student Award Kelly V. Wegel

Shelley D. Knox Award for Outstanding Public Interest Student Kelly V. Wegel

Ellen Jordan Award for Outstanding Public Interest Student Kelly V. Wegel

Georgia Defense Lawyers Association Willis J. "Dick" Richardson, Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Trial Advocacy W. Matthew Wilson

> Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial, LLP Award for Outstanding Mock Trial Advocate Gregg J. Conley

> Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial, LLP Award for Outstanding Moot Court Advocate Allison L. Hill

Kerry Harike Joedeke Memorial Award for Excellence Outstanding Moot Court Board Member Yasmine Storme Murray Ronald Carlson Award for Excellence in the Study of Evidence Margaret E. Randels

Law School Alumni Association Award for Greatest Improvement in Academic Standing

1st to 2nd Year – Michael P. Orta 2nd to 3rd Year – Andrew Robinson

Law School Alumni Association Award for Highest Academic Average Class of 2014 – Bryan W. Lutz Class of 2015 – Lee A. Deneen

> William King Meadow Award Joe P. Reynolds

Jesse & Dan MacDougald Memorial Award for First Honor Graduate and Isaac Meinhard Award for Highest Academic Average Matthew V. H. Noller

## **2014 Faculty Awards**

John C. O'Byrne Memorial Award for Significant Contributions Furthering Student-Faculty Relations Professor Elizabeth Chamblee Burch

Student Bar Association Professionalism Award

Associate Dean Lonnie T. Brown, Jr.

C. Ronald Ellington Award for Excellence in Teaching

Professor Erica J. Hashimoto

## National Order of Barristers

The Order of Barristers is a national honorary organization whose purpose is the encouragement of oral advocacy and brief writing skills through effective law school oral advocacy programs. The Order seeks to improve these programs through interscholastic sharing of ideas, information and resources. The Order also provides national recognition for individuals who have excelled in advocacy and service at their respective schools and for successful participation in regional, national and international interscholastic advocacy competitions.

Order of the Barristers Jeremy B. Dailey David B. Dove Constance A. Parks Margaret E. Randels Utrophia D. Robinson Alexandria E. Seay Steven L. Strasberg Benjamin W. Thorpe Emily K. Westberry W. Matthew Wilson

### Induction Ceremony of the Class of 2013 Order of the Coif

The Order of the Coif is an honorary scholastic society, the purpose of which is to encourage excellence in legal education by fostering a spirit of careful study, recognizing those who as law students excelled in their studies and honoring those who as lawyers, judges and teachers attained high distinction for their scholarly or professional accomplishments.

> Kelly Amanda Blair Lucas Drayton Bradley James Matthew Brigman Brad A. Chynoweth Ava Joy Conger Katie Anne Croghan John Thomas Dixon Marguerite Clare Ellis Barclay Sutton Hendrix **Robert William Jacques** Crystal Marissa Johnson Alexander Scott King Brian E. Lake Mary Elizabeth Martinez Colleen McCaffrey Daniel John Monahan Matthew V.H. Noller Virginia Ann Norman Matthew Curtis Onyett Alan Gregory Poole Jr. Jacob Michael Reif Sajid Saleem Rory A. Weeks Lawrence S. Winsor

## CALI Excellence for the Future Awards

## Civil Procedures Spring 2013

Cameron B. Roberts/Lee A. Deneen Chelsey N. McDade Ricardo A. Lopez

## Fall 2013

Solesse L. Altman Fisher K. Law/Terrell C. Ogletree Michael A. DelGaudio

### Contracts

Lee A. Deneen Hunter B. Carpenter Maria del Rosar Rivera-Diaz

## Property

Amanda L. McBride Daniel J. Campen/Kyle P. Shaughnessy

## Torts

Lee A. Deneen Emily N. Evans William A. Smith

# Legal Research & Writing

Nicola M. Rossi Elizabeth H. Verner Sarah C. McMahon Nicole L. Penn Colton R. Caldwell William A. Smith

#### **Criminal Law**

Solesse J. Altman/Stephen D. Morrison Charles K. Thimmesch Michael A. DelGaudio

### **Constitutional Law I**

Lee A. Deneen Corey Goerdt Bryan W. Lutz Cameron B. Roberts

## **Constitutional Law II**

Sarah A. Hill Dennis O. Vann Charles M. McCranie

## Corporations

Brian S. Abrams Nicola M. Rossi/Joseph C. Phillips Matthew V. H. Noller

# **Criminal Procedure I**

Joseph C. Crumbley Maria del Rosar Rivera-Diaz

## **Criminal Procedure II**

Brittany A. Conklin Bryan W. Lutz

## Evidence

Cameron B. Roberts Bryan W. Lutz Melissa A. Conrad-Alam

# Federal Income Tax

Thomas D. Powell Bryan W. Lutz

# The Law and Ethics of Lawyering

Shawn Chang/Robert G. Goff, Jr. Bryan W. Lutz

# Trust & Estates I

David C. Wright Catherine Land Wiegand