Kelleher and Weathersby argue before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

As part of the law school’s Appellate Litigation Clinic, third-year students Christopher “Chris” Kelleher and Alexander “Alex” Weathersby recently presented oral arguments on the same day in two separate cases before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. Kelleher represented the clinic’s client in Petersen v. Blanton, et al., a Section 1983 case against five correctional officers who broke the client's arm and left him in solitary confinement for two weeks with no medical care. Weathersby argued in the case Jones v. Secretary, Florida Department of Corrections, which is a habeas case that asked whether the clinic’s client "properly filed" his state post-conviction motion for purposes of tolling the deadline on his federal habeas petition. Class of 2018 graduates Jared B. Magnuson and Wheaton Webb wrote the briefs in both cases.

Mize and Rodrigues named as UGA provost search committee members

Monday, August 13, 2018

University of Georgia President Jere W. Morehead has appointed a search committee to recruit and review candidates to be the next senior vice president for academic affairs and provost of the institution. The committee — composed of faculty, staff, administration, student and alumni representatives — includes Circulation Manager of the Law Library and President of the Staff Council Marie Mize and Kilpatrick Chair of Corporate Finance and Securities Law Usha Rodrigues.

Six professors receive promotions

Monday, August 13, 2018

Congratulations to Mehrsa Baradaran, Kent Barnett, Christopher M. Bruner, Jason A. Cade, Nathan S. Chapman and Hillel Y. Levin for receiving promotions. Baradaran now holds the Robert Cotten Alston Associate Chair in Corporate Law. Barnett became a J. Alton Hosch Associate Professor of Law. Bruner was named the Stembler Family Distinguished Professor in Business Law. Levin assumed the Alex W. Smith Professorship of Law. Additionally, Cade was awarded tenure, while Chapman was promoted to associate professor with tenure.

School of Law welcomes the Class of 2021

Friday, August 10, 2018

Orientation has begun for the 207 members of the Class of 2021. These Juris Doctor students are a diverse group with a variety of backgrounds, and 21 are first-generation college graduates. They hail from 24 states and studied at 83 undergraduate institutions. Fifty-two percent of the class are male, and 48 percent are female. Twenty percent self-identify as belonging to a minority group, while seven are military veterans. The school also welcomes 16 LL.M. (Master of Laws) students, hailing from 14 countries on five continents and nine M.S.L. (Master in the Study of Law) students seeking knowledge of the legal system to enhance their careers.

Trauma-informed mock trial program wins innovative teaching award

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Two UGA faculty members, who designed a model for teaching trauma-informed courtroom practices to social work and law students, have won the 2018 SAGE Publishing/CSWE Award for Innovative Teaching in Social Work Education. Emma Hetherington (J.D.'11), assistant clinical professor in the UGA School of Law and director of the Wilbanks Child Endangerment and Sexual Exploitation Clinic, and Jennifer Elkins, associate professor in the UGA School of Social Work, developed a model for a course which integrated classroom lessons with a mock trial simulation. The course aims to demonstrate how to more effectively advocate for and represent child welfare-involved children and families within the juvenile court system. The award is given annually by the Council on Social Work Education and will be officially presented in early November.