Appellate Litigation Clinic wins case in 11th Circuit Court of Appeals

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

The law school's Appellate Litigation Clinic recently won a case in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. The case Smith v. Dewberry involved whether the client was in imminent danger at the time he filed his complaint such that he could bypass the three-strike rule under the Prison Litigation Reform Act. Third-year students Holly M. Boggs and Ryan L. Giles, second-year students M. David Boyer II and Megan Cambre, and Counselor-in-Residence Cary Berkeley Kaye all assisted with the case.

UGA Foundation elects new trustees, including alumna Betsy Cox and the library's Marie Mize

Thursday, June 28, 2018

The University of Georgia Foundation elected new trustees during its annual meeting. Law school alumna Betsy C. Cox (J.D.'80) was elected an advisory trustee and the Alexander Campbell King Law Library's Marie R. Mize, who currently serves as president of the university staff council, has become an ex-officio, non-voting trustee. 

UGA School of Law opens Veterans Legal Clinic

Monday, June 18, 2018

Beginning this month, veterans living in Georgia can receive legal assistance they may not otherwise have access to or be able to afford through the University of Georgia School of Law’s new Veterans Legal Clinic. Georgia has the ninth largest population of veterans in the United States, many of whom return home with service-related disabilities and therefore rely on benefits from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, according to 30-plus-year public service lawyer and educator Alexander W. “Alex” Scherr, who will direct the clinic’s operations.Individuals seeking help from the clinic can call 706-542-6439 or send an email to .

Ten students receive summer judicial fellowships

Monday, June 11, 2018

Consistent with its commitment to the judiciary and reflecting one of its core values of “service to state and society,” the University of Georgia School of Law is pleased to announce that 10 first-year law students were awarded fellowships to pursue judicial clerkships this summer. These students are currently working throughout the Peach State in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia and the Georgia Court of Appeals in addition to State Courts, Superior Courts and Probate Courts. This program enables students to see the immense value of working for judges at a variety of levels: they learn the role of the judiciary in our country’s legal system, see the importance of public service firsthand, develop critical thinking and writing skills, and make valuable connections.

UGA law students embark on public interest fellowships in record numbers, Nearly 50 law students awarded $83,000+ in public service grants

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

UGA School of Law students are answering the call of public service in record-breaking numbers. Thanks to additional funding sources, the law school has been able to provide 48 students with monetary support to pursue summer public interest work in a variety of settings. This number more than doubles the number of participants from two years ago in 2016, which was 22. The total amount of funding has grown significantly as well, from $53,000 in 2016 to more than $83,000 in 2018. In addition, the number of fellowship sources has grown to eight, including new grants supporting work in health and municipal law.