School of Law wins national moot court competition and finishes as finalist in another; students qualify for national tier of National Moot Court Competition

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Athens, Ga. - Advocacy teams from the University of Georgia School of Law continue to perform well at tournaments, with three groups winning or finishing as finalists in recent moot court competitions.

Third-year students Holly M. Boggs and Ava G. Goble captured the national title at the Eighth Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition. Additionally, Goble was named the best oralist of the final round and third best oralist overall. Third-year students Daniel E. "Dan" Philyaw and Ian M. Lamb also competed and finished the contest as quarterfinalists and earned the second best respondent brief award. Additionally, Philyaw was named the tournament's overall best oralist.

This was the first time the School of Law competed in the event. Boggs and Goble defeated a team from the University of Houston Law Center to win the championship.

At the 11th Annual Emory Civil Rights and Liberties Moot Court Competition, third-year students Devon G. Zawko and Hannah E. Ponders finished as national finalists. The School of Law was also represented by third-year students Molly A. Munson, Hayley E. Wilson and Mishael K. Najm at this tournament, which included more than 30 law school teams from across the nation.

Additionally, a group of third-year students comprised of Lauren E. Lutton, Taryn P. Winston and Margaret "Maggie" Sparks qualified to compete in the national championship round of the National Moot Court Competition after they finished as finalists in the regional level competition. Sparks earned best oralist honors at the Region 5 contest. The trio will travel to New York City for the championship round in January 2018.

"Each of these teams performed well and worked tirelessly to prepare for the respective competitions," said Director of Advocacy Kellie Casey. "It is always rewarding to see their hard work pay off."

UGA School of Law
Consistently regarded as one of the nation's top law schools, the School of Law was established in 1859. Its accomplished faculty includes authors of some of the country's leading legal scholarship. The School of Law is proud of its long-standing commitment to providing first-rate legal training for future leaders who will serve state and society in both the public and private sectors. The school offers three degrees-the Juris Doctor, the Master of Laws and the Master in the Study of Law-and is home to the Dean Rusk International Law Center. For more information, see