Class Notes

Class Notes items listed were processed between April 24, 2017, and August 3, 2017. In the event a Class Notes entry is not correct, you are asked to contact the Law School Advancement office at lawalum@uga.edu.

Class Notes entries come directly from School of Law alumni and alumnae and should be submitted to <u>lawalum@uga.edu</u>. Photos to accompany a Class Note are welcome.

1950s

Frank W. Seiler (1957) of Savannah, GA, was recognized with a resolution of commendation by the Judicial Council of Georgia.

1960s



John M. Tatum (1968) of Savannah, GA, received the Daily Report's 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award.

1970s

Jon R. Zulauf (1976) of Seattle, WA, received the Washington Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers President's Award. Elizabeth W. Camp (1977) of Atlanta, GA, was elected as a trustee of the UGA Foundation Board of Trustees. John S. Dalis (1977) of Saint Simons Island, GA, retired from the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Georgia after 30 years of service. Andrew H. Ernst (1977)



of Savannah, GA, was highlighted in the prestigious *Chambers USA 2017* for his work in the area of environmental law and HunterMaclean was the only Savannah firm ranked by Chambers USA

2017. Kathy S. Palmer (1979) of Swainsboro, GA, became president of the Council of Superior Court Judges of Georgia. David R. Sweat (1979) of Athens, GA,



took Superior Court senior judge status.



R. Wayne Thorpe (1979) of Atlanta, GA, was elected chair of the board of directors for JAMS, formerly known as Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services, Inc.

1980s

Barth X. deRosa (1982) of Clarksville, MD, was recogized as a 2017 Washington D.C.

Super Lawyer. **Richard A. Greenberg** (1983) of Tallahassee, FL, was sworn in as president-elect of the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. **Wade W.**





Herring II (1983) of Savannah, GA, was highlighted in the prestigious *Chambers USA* 2017 for his work in the area of labor and employment law and HunterMaclean was the only

Savannah firm ranked by *Chambers USA* 2017.



Jonathan R. Levine (1985) of Atlanta, GA, was named to the 2017 National Law Journal's Divorce, Trusts & Estates

Trailblazers list. **Stephen D.**

Kelley (1986) Brunswick, GA, became the president-elect of the Council of Superior Court Judges. Anne H.





Whitaker (1986) of Atlanta, GA, joined Entrusted Advisors LLC.

Paul G. Durdaller (1987) of Atlanta,



GA, and his firm Stites & Harbison were selected by *Corporate INTL* magazine as

recipients of the 2017 Corporate INTL's Global Awards. **Steve C. Jones** (1987) of Atlanta, GA, will continue to serve as secretary of the UGA Foundation Board of Trustees. **Elizabeth B. Chandler** (1988) of Atlanta, GA, had her role expanded to include overseeing Rollins' internal audit department and she became a member of



the executive steering committee. **Edward J. Rappaport** (1989) of Atlanta, GA, accepted a position as senior counsel at The Saylor Law Firm.

1990s



Evan W. Jones (1991) of Athens, GA, joined Blasingame, Burch, Garrard & Ashley, P.C. as a shareholder. Nancy E. Rafuse (1991) of Atlanta, GA, was recognized

as one of the 12 honorees in *Atlanta* magazine's Women Making a Mark. **Jonathan D. Crumly Sr.** (1994) of Atlanta, GA, joined Taylor English Duma as counsel.



Timothy W. Wilson (1995) of Rocky Mount, NC, was elected to partner of the management committee at Poyner Spruill.

Jon R. Smibert (1996) of Tirana,

Albania, was awarded the medal *për merita të veçanta civile*, (for special civil accomplishment) by the President Nishani of Albania



and is a finalist for the 2017 Samuel Heyman Service to America Award for International Affairs and National Security. **F. Chase Simmons** (1997) of Kansas City, MO, was elected vice chairman and chairelect of Polsinelli. **Christopher P. Twyman** (1999) of Rome, GA, was elected to serve on the State Bar of Georgia Board of Governors.

2000s



Alexander S. Lurey (2001) of Alpharetta, GA, was promoted to associate general council at Verint Systems,

Inc. John D. Northup III (2002)

of Savannah, GA, joined Bouhan Falligant. **Benjamin J. Vinson** (2002) of Atlanta, GA, was appointed by Gov. Nathan



Deal to the State Board of Workers' Compensation. **Michelle L. Carter** (2003) of Atlanta, GA, accepted a new position at King & Spalding of associate director of lawyer development and recruiting. **Jeffrey M. Kwastel** (2003) of Lackland AFB, TX, became attorney-advisor of the Air Force Civil Engineering Center, United States Air Force JAG Corps. **Alan J. Hamilton** (2004) of Atlanta, GA, received a \$1.3 million settlement on behalf of his client who suffered injuries resulting from an automobile accident.

Michele J. Kim (2006) of Brunswick,

GA, was sworn in as the newest Bankruptcy Court judge in the Southern District of Georgia. **Amélie Brédas Messingham** (2006) of Tucson, AZ, joined Farhang & Medcoff as a partner.





H. Michael Ruppersburg Jr. (2006) of Athens, GA, joined Blasingame, Burch, Garrard &

Ashley, P.C. as a shareholder. **Cristine P.**

Rankin (2007) of Atlanta, GA, joined Entrusted Advisors LLC. John R. Thomas





Jr. (2007) of Roanoke, VA, was included in the 2017 Virginia Super Lawyers Rising Stars list.

2010-2016

Daniel C. Beer (2011) of Atlanta, GA, received a \$1.3 million settlement on behalf of his client who suffered injuries resulting from an automobile accident. **B. Wheat Kirbo III** (2011) of Bainbridge, GA, was elected chairman of the Bainbridge State College Foundation Board. John Hyung Kim (2014) of Fayetteville, GA, joined the Fulton County District Attorney's Office.