• Professor Ringhand having a conversation outside of class with two law students
  • law student talking across table to potential employer
  • two students in Hatton LoveJoy courtroom engaged in advocacy competition
  • law students in class in Sanders Board Room
  • law school graduate on graduation day
  • faculty member David Shipley giving lecture in law school classroom
  • downtown Athens sidewalk facing UGA north campus with student group walking
  • law student in action at corporate counsel externship placement
  • view of international location visited by global internship law students
  • two law students practicing for negotiation team
  • view from library book shelves looking out at reading room windows with student studying at library table
  • rotunda of law school looking down the stairs
  • law school's three legal journals

Georgia Law graduate Sally Yates confirmed as U.S. deputy attorney general

justice seal

Recently, Sally Quillian Yates, former U.S. attorney for the Northern District of Georgia and a 1986 magna cum laude graduate of the University of Georgia School of Law, was confirmed as U.S. deputy attorney general. Nominated by President Barack Obama late last year, Yates has been serving in an acting capacity in the No. 2 post at the U.S. Department of Justice. She replaced Deputy Attorney General James M. Cole.


More News

Congratulations to first-year student Joshua J. "Josh" Ely and second-year student Elinore R. "Ellie" Carroll, who have been awarded the school's 2015 Spurgeon Public Service Fellowship. Supported by the Edward D. and Carol J. Spurgeon Public Service Fund, the fellowship is awarded to Georgia Law students who have completed their first or second year of law school, are working in a low-paying public service summer position and have demonstrated a commitment to public service.

The University of Georgia School of Law joins many voices from around the state and nation in mourning the passing of the U.S. District Court Judge B. Avant Edenfield on May 9 at the age of 80. “My family and everyone at the law school extend our deepest personal condolences to Melvis, his wife, and the Edenfield family on this sad day,” Georgia Law Dean Peter B.

Georgia Law’s Erica J. Hashimoto has been named the school’s new associate dean for clinical programs and experiential learning. In this role, she will work to enhance and advance the school’s real-practice learning offerings. Recently named a Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, Hashimoto joined Georgia Law in the fall of 2004 and was named the holder of the Allen Post Professorship in 2014. In addition to teaching courses in criminal law, evidence and criminal procedure, she created and helps oversee the school’s Appellate Litigation Clinic.

Law School Association Annual Meeting and Reception


In conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Georgia, please join us for the Law School Association Annual Meeting on June 19 at 5:15 pm at the Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort, Stone Mountain, GA. This meeting will be immediately followed by the Georgia Law Alumni Reception at 5:30 pm. At the annual meeting, alumni will be asked to vote upon 3 items that have been unanimously approved for recommendation to the association by the Law School Association Council. More information, including room location, will be included in the registration materials for the State Bar of Georgia's Annual Meeting which will be distributed by the State Bar.




June 5, 2015 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Mr. Edward B. Krugman (J.D. '79) will host the 2015 Spring Twilight Affair at his home in Atlanta. This black-tie event is for 2014-15 members of the law school's Joseph Henry Lumpkin Society and is invitation only.  Membership in the JHL Society is reserved for donors of $1,000 or more to the law school each year.

June 19, 2015 - 5:15pm to 7:30pm

In conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the State Bar of Georgia, please join us for the Law School Association Annual Meeting that will be immediately followed by the Georgia Law Alumni Reception at 5:30 pm.

June 24, 2015 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm

Georgia Law alumni and friends in the New York City area are cordially invited to a reception with special guest:  Harlan G. Cohen, Associate Professor of Law.

July 24, 2015 - 8:00am to July 25, 2015 - 5:00pm

Interviews for selected students in Atlanta, GA.

July 30, 2015 - 8:00am to July 31, 2015 - 5:00pm

Interviews for selected students in Chicago.

Dean Rusk Center
for International Law and Policy

The Dean Rusk Center was established in 1977 to expand the scope of international law and policy initiatives at the University of  Georgia School of Law. Today, the Rusk Center, which is housed in Rusk Hall on UGA’s North Campus, provides a forum for collaboration and debate on issues of global importance, administers international education programs, and sponsors law school outreach to diverse partners around the world.




photo of man walking by steps and entrance to Dean Rusk Hall

ABA Required Disclosures

Georgia Law has been accredited by the American Bar Association since 1930. In compliance with the ABA's standards, the following information about Georgia Law is provided to current and prospective students: