Photos of presenters for the 2022 colloquium series  

For more than a decade, the International Law Colloquium Series has brought leading scholars to the School of Law, where they have presented works in progress and invited discussion and comments from students as well as faculty discussants. Past presenters have come from throughout the United States and as far as Galway, Geneva, London, Montreal, Rome and Toronto to explore an array of legal topics: foreign direct investment, refugees, international arbitration, discrimination, climate change, crimes against humanity, international tribunals, state sovereignty, human rights, treaty interpretation, democracy-building, counterterrorism and the laws of war, and global governance.

The Spring 2022 International Law Colloquium is a two-credit course led by Harlan G. Cohen, the Gabriel M. Wilner/UGA Foundation Professor in International Law, and supported by the Dean Rusk International Law Center.


Pictured above, beginning at top left:
  • January 21: Kristen Eichensehr, University of Virginia School of Law
    “National Security Creep in Corporate Transactions.”        

  • January 28: Rebecca Hamilton, American University Washington College of Law
    “Platform-Enabled Crimes: Closing the Accountability Gap for Social Media Companies that Facilitate International Crimes.”

  • February 11: Asli Ü. Bâli, UCLA Law
    “From Revolution to Devolution? Dilemmas of Decentralization in the Middle East”

  • February 25: Rebecca Crootof, University of Richmond School of Law
    “War Torts”

  • March 4: Alonso Gurmendi Dunkelberg, Universidad del Pacífico, Perú
    “Discontinuity and the Histories of Regulating War”

  • March 18: Sarah Nouwen, European University Institute, Italy, and University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

  • April 1: Maggie Gardner, Cornell Law School
    “‘Foreign-Cubed’ Cases before Early Admiralty Courts”

  • April 15: Julian Arato, Brooklyn Law School
    “Justification in International Economic Law”


This program is made possible through the Kirbo Trust Endowed Faculty Enhancement Fund and the Talmadge Law Faculty Fund.