Verner F. Chaffin Society

Join the
Verner F. Chaffin Society

Individuals who support the University of Georgia School of Law with a planned gift are members of the Verner F. Chaffin Society.  A planned gift can be made through the assignment of a life insurance policy, a retirement plan asset, a charitable gift annuity or through an outright bequest in a will.

This society was created to honor and recognize law alumnus and Fuller E. Callaway Chair Emeritus Verner F. Chaffin (LL.B.’42)(1918-2018).  Joining the faculty in 1958, Chaffin specialized in the fields of wills and trusts, estate planning and federal estate and gift taxation. While noted for his scholarship, Dr. Chaffin was always a favorite among students.  The Verner F. Chaffin Society recognizes not only Dr. Chaffin’s contributions to the legal field, but his long service to his alma mater and his generous financial support.

To be eligible for membership in the Verner F. Chaffin Society, donors are asked to notify the law school in writing of their charitable intent for the UGA Foundation by completing the Statement of Future Gifts.  If you would like further information about the Verner F. Chaffin Society or to explore planned giving options, please contact Phyllis Cooke Webb in the Law School Advancement Office at (706) 542-7637 or .


Chaffin Society Members

We are grateful to the alumni / alumnae and friends who have chosen to participate in the school’s future success through their planned gifts.

Morris B. Abram (Deceased)
A. Pratt Adams (Deceased)
Raymond J. Adamson (Deceased)
Luis A. & Denise T. Aguilar
Anonymous (Deceased)
Anonymous (Deceased)
Michael L. Baker
Peter L. Banks
Donna G. Barwick
Harry S. Baxter (Deceased)
Janet Ellis Beerman
Curtis H. Bell (Deceased)
Mr. & Mrs. David B. Bell
Gary L. Bernes
Richard W. Bethea, Jr. & Mildred B. Bethea
Margaret G. Bode (Deceased)
Jesse G. Bowles, Jr. (Deceased)
Richard Y. Bradley
Milton F. Brown, Jr. (Deceased)
William Carroll Brown (Deceased)
W. Joseph Bruckner
James E. Butler, Jr.
Verner F. Chaffin, Sr. (Deceased)
Gordon W. Chambers (Deceased)
Elizabeth B. (Beth) and Richard C. Chandler
Robert W. Chasteen, Jr.
John L. Coalson, Jr.
J. Vincent Cook, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. Ronald S. Cooper
John S. Dalis
Sally Ramsey Daniel
J. Anderson Davis
Jule W. Felton (Deceased)
B. Lane Fitzpatrick
James L. Ford, Sr.
Janice Haynes Gilmore
John T. Glover
Thomas F. Green (Deceased)
J. Wayne Hadden
Robert P. Hall III
Gerald F. Handley
J. (Jay) Rene’ Hawkins, Jr.
William C. "Bubba" Head
Walter Hellerstein
Jim & Elsie Henderson
Eric M. Holmes (Deceased)
J. Alton Hosch (Deceased)
Edith E. House (Deceased)
Kay Howington
Dale & Cindy Hughes
A. Felton Jenkins, Jr. (Deceased)
William R. Jenkins
Inslee M. Johnson (Deceased)
Howard W. Jones (Deceased)
Paul V. Kilpatrick, Jr.
Dow N. Kirkpatrick II
Anthony D. Lehman
Mr. & Mrs. Donald A. Loft
Hamilton Lokey, Sr. (Deceased)
Frank G. Lumpkin, Jr. (Deceased)
H. Marcus Lynch (Deceased)
Luciano A. Marcuz (Deceased)
Mary A. McCravey (Deceased)
Melburne D. McLendon (Deceased)
Julia LeCraw Mikell
Henry G. Neal (Deceased)
John T. Newton, Jr.
John S. Noell, Jr.
Timothy A. Peterson
Barry Phillips (Deceased)
Sonny Poloche
David M. Reed
Alan F. Rothschild, Jr.
Carl E. Sanders (Deceased)
Dale M. Schwartz
William J. Self II
Edward S. Sell, Jr. (Deceased)
Alexander W. Smith III (Deceased)
David A. Smith
Russell & Judith Smith
D. Hughes Spalding, Jr. (Deceased)
Gordon L. Sullivan (Deceased)
Michael E. & Leah Fallin Sumner
Fred C. Sweat (Deceased)
Frank M. Swift (Deceased)
Steven J. Thatcher (Deceased)
Richard G. Tisinger, Sr. & Marian W. Tisinger
Michael L. Van Cise
S. Ernest Vandiver, Jr. (Deceased)
Fred H. Walker (Deceased)
John T. Wasdin
J. Thomas Watson (Deceased)
Nancy Marcuz Wech
Richard V. Wellman (Deceased)
James C. Whelchel (Deceased)
Rebecca Hanner White
Alexander D. Williams (Deceased)
Lucia Smith Wilson (Deceased)
Susan Jump Wilson
O. Lee Wiseley, Jr.
C. Knox Withers & Tracy L. Rhodes
Laura E. Woodson
Allen W. Yee
Glenn T. York, Jr. (Deceased)