student speaking to judges during moot court competition

Moot Court

Sharpen your legal skills in simulated appellate court proceedings as part of Georgia Law's Moot Court teams.

Participating on a Moot Court team gives you the opportunity to draft briefs and present oral arguments, appear before federal and state justices and judges and travel to local, regional and national competitions.

Georgia Law's Moot Court program is supported by committed faculty members and Moot Court alumni who volunteer to judge practice rounds of oral arguments.

Who Can Participate

Membership on the Moot Court teams is reserved for 2nd and 3rd year law students.

1st year students have the opportunity to present an appellate argument during the spring semester of their legal research and writing class. After presenting this argument, students may elect to participate in the Richard B. Russell Moot Court Competition and try out for the first 8 spots on the Georgia Law Moot Court team.

Winning History

Georgia Law's Moot Court teams boast an impressive reputation, winning some of the most difficult appellate tournaments in the country, including:

National Moot Court Tournament
National Champions: 1996-97, 1991-92
National Finalists: 2012-13
National Semifinalists: 2002-03, 1993-94, 1992-93
Regional Champions: 2009-10, 2004-05, 2003-04, 2002-03, 2001-02, 2000-01, 1997-98, 1996-97, 1995-96, 1994-95, 1993-94, 1992-93, 1991-92

Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition
World Champion: 1990
National Champions: 1996, 1994, 1991, 1990
Regional Champions: 2010, 2004, 2002, 2001, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1991

Georgia Intrastate Moot Court Competition
Champions: 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 1994, 1990

National First Amendment Moot Court Competition
Champions: 2013, 2008, 2006, 1997
Finalists: 2004, 2001
Semifinalist: 2007

Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Moot Court Competition
Champions: 2006, 2002, 2014
Finalists: 2004, 2003
Semifinalists: 2012, 2010, 2007

American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Regional Competition
Champions: 2013, 2012, 2007, 2005, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1995, 1992, 1991
National Finalist: 2005

Emory National Civil Rights and Liberties Moot Court Competition
Champion: 2007
Finalists: 2012
Semifinalists: 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008

Mercer University National Legal Ethics and Professionalism Moot Court Competition
Champion: 2011, 2012

Evan A. Evans National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition
Champion: 2010

Hulsey/Gambrell Moot Court Competition (formerly the Husley-Kimbrell Competition)
20 victories

Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Championship
Champion: 2014

Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot
Notable finishes: 2010 (top 32 teams), 2011 (top 32 teams), 2012 (top 16 teams), 2014 (top 16 teams)

Additional opportunities are offered through Moot Court exchanges with Gray's Inn of London, England, and King's Inn of Dublin, Ireland.

For a complete history of Moot Court and Mock Trial wins, visit the winning reputation page.

Executive Board & Teams

  • 2014-2015 Executive Moot Court Board
    Executive Chairman:
    Laughlin Kane
    Executive Vice Chair:
    Kristina Thompson
    George Ray
    Competition Coordinators:
    Carey Miller
    Dov Preminger
    National Moot Team:
    Xon Hostetter
    George Ray
    Nick Stanojevich
    Andrew Kurth National Team:
    Candace Farmer
    Ashley Wright
    Alicia Luncheon
    First Amendment Team:
    Amanda McDowell
    Zach Jones
    Legal Ethics Team:
    Spencer Schold
    Chelsea Ivey
    Civil Rights Teams:
    Andrew Whitaker
    Laughlin Kane
    Alex Schwall
    Ross Miskelly
    Carey Miller
    Mark Grafton
    Hulsey Gambrell Team:
    Keith Hall
    Aaron Parks
    Jessup Team:
    Elliot Gillooly
    Zach Kelehear
    Cameron Roberts (editor)
    ABA Coaches:
    Amanda McDowell
    Ross Miskelly
    Intrastate coaches:
    Alicia Luncheon
    Alex Schwall
    Prince Coach:
    Nick Stanojevich
  • 2014-2015 Moot Court Teams
    Ty Adams
    Mical Carter
    Robert Daniel
    Kevin Davis
    Leah Davis
    Sidney Eberhart
    Joseph Emmanuel
    Meredith Gardial
    Stephen Morrison
    Sarah Hannah Newman
    Kelsie Royal
    Charles Thimmesch
    Rachel Zisek
    Russell Eight (Spring 2014):
    Taylor Butchenschon
    Heidi Gholamhosseini
    Keith Hall
    Zach Jones
    Aaron Parks
    Marshall Sims
    Michelle Tang
    Jake Ware

Related Links